The Scientific Team

Cournot Centre


Institute of the Americas in Paris

Robert Boyer is an economist at the lnstitute of the Americas in Paris and a member of ils scientific committee. Former Director of Research at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS} and Professor at the School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (EHESS), he is Doctor honoris causa of the University of Buenos Aires in Argentine ond of the University of Leuven in Belgium. Professor Boyer is President of the association Recherche et Régulation.


University of Paris VII & Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions

Josselin Garnier is a mathematician and Professor at the University of Paris Diderot. He is a researcher at the Laboratoire de Probabilités et Modèles Aléatoires (LPMA). Professor Garnier received the Blaise Pascal Prize in 2007 and the Felix Klein Prize in 2008.

Bernard Gazier

University of Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne) & Centre d’économie MATISSECES

Bernard Gazier is an economist and Professor emeritus at the University of Paris I. He was a member of the Institut Universitaire de France from 2007 to 2012. He is a researcher at the Sorbonne Economic Centre (CES), a joint research team of the University of Paris I and the CNRS. Professor Gazier is President of the Société de Port-Royal and Co-president of the Cournot Centre.

Alice Guionnet

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.)

Alice Guionnet is a mathematician and a CNRS Director of Research of the Unît of Mathematîcs, Pure and Applied (UMPA), a mathematics labaratory of the Ecole normale supérieure de Lyon. Currently on leave from her professorship in the Department of Mathematics at the Massachusetts Instîtute of Technology, she sits on the editorial boards of Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré and Annals of Probability. Professor Guionnet was awarded the Loève Prize in 2009 and was selected to be a Simons lnvestigator by the Simons Foundation in 2012.

Hans-Helmut Kotz

Université de Fribourg

Hans-Helmut Kotz is an economist and a Resident Fellow of the Center for European Studies and a Visiting Professor of Economics, both at Harvard University. A Senior Fellow of the Center for Financial Studies and Program Director of the SAFE Policy Center at Goethe University, Frankfurt, he is also a member of Freiburg University's Economics Faculty. Prior to that, he served on the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank, in charge of financial stability, markets and statistics, and was a member of committees of the European Central Bank, the Bank for International Settlements, the Financial Stability Board, as well as the Organisation for Economie Co-operation and Development, where he was chair of the Financial Markets Committee. Professer Kotz was the German Central Bank Deputy for the G7 /G8 and the G20 process.

Thierry Martin

Université de Franche-Comté - Besançon

Thierry Martin is a philosopher and Professor of Philosophy of Science at the University of Franche-Comté and Director of the Centre on the Logic of Action in Besançon, France. Founding member of the Philosophy of Science Society (SPS), member of the International Institute of Philosophy (IIP) and of the National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science (CNFHPS), he is a research associate of the Institute for History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (IHPST]. Professor Martin is co-editor of the complete works of Augustin Cournot and Co-president of the Cournot Centre.

Johan Paulsson

Harvard Medical School

Johan Paulsson is an applied mathematician and Associate Professor in the Department of Biosystems of Harvard Medical School. He is founder of the Paulsson Lab, which he has been managing since its creation in 2005.

Robert Solow

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.)

Robert Solow is an economist and Institute Professor emeritus at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 1987, he received the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences for his contributions to economic growth theory, and, in 1999, the US National Medal of Science. Former President of the American Academy of Sciences and of the Econometrics Society, he is a Scholar at the Russell Sage Foundation. Professor Solow is Co-founder of the Cournot Foundation and Centre.